Grains Make Us Fat — Period

by bitznbitez

Grain based diets make us fatter, period.   The stats I have read state that on average Americans are 17 lbs over their ideal weight.   That is pretty close to how much weight I gain or loose switching my diet between a grain based one a protein based one.

A few months ago for the the first time in my life I tried a diet.    I’ve watched dieters for years and noted that few have ever had success.   And of the ones that did have success they were a miserable bunch.   Always moping and hungry etc.   I noticed though that those on a high protein diet, were never hungry and lost weight.  So I tried it.   Essentially my diet was all the meat and veggies I could eat, with cheeses, gravies and sauces thrown in ( and a glass or two of wine ).    I did not eat grains or fruits.   The result was over the next few months I lost 18 lbs.  I was never hungry, I ate when I wanted, ate as much as I felt like I wanted.

The question in any diet is “But can you keep it off ?”

From personal experience the answer is yes.  I can keep the 18 lbs off however not if I add grains back into my diet.   If I decide to start eating grains I will gain weight.   This is repeatable at will.   Add grains weight goes up, remove grains weight goes down.

There are a few people who wear white labcoats and carry clipboards and are thus called “scientists” or “nutritionists” or “doctors” who point this out.    The overwhelming majority of them however insist this simply is not true.    I can reproduce this at will in my body.  My wife can reproduce this in her body every time we vary our diet the result is consistent.   It is so consistent and reproducible that one must ask the question why its not pointed out by “scientists/doctors/etc.”

The reason can either be they are not attempting to find this out because they have high grain diet blinders, they scuttle results when they show up, or most likely those that do discover and report this tend not get further funding from the various big science funding centers.

